Haiti…

How can you take a nation of people who have nothing and give them less….

We watched helpless as images and news stories scrolled before our eyes…

We text donations, round off our grocery bill, write checks, carry food, water and clothing to drop boxes. We pray alone and together. But mainly we watch…

As I watched,  a story surfaced about a wonderful young woman named Molly Hightower from Port Orchard, Washington. She had been in Haiti since June of 2009 working for the Friends of Orphans International.
She was missing.

She kept a blog, 525,600 minutes, which I read in its entirety.  She was a special person, a loving person,a person of strong convictions, a person who gave of herself…. Another face on this horrible event. I prayed for her and hoped she would be found.
Sadly, this morning, there was a post that her body had been recovered in the building where she worked with special needs orphans. Her sister updated her twitter account with this, ““We take peace in knowing she is with our Lord although our hearts are breaking,” she wrote. “Remember our beautiful Molly — the most Christ-centered, compassionate, vibrant lover of life we know. Live in (her) example — with selfless compassion and a joyful spirit.” I felt such a sadness for her family, friends and these beautiful children …Friends of Orphans and her family have set up a page to make donations in her name.

 I can’t help but feel that with each event that occurs where help is needed, when disaster strikes, a tragedy, something so terrible. That I see our humanity as our salvation
I see a world filled with so many people of different tongues, nationalities and beliefs, willing to give, to donate, to share and to travel to this place and I wonder why can’t we find a common thread to get along.

One of my favorite scripture tells us, together we are stronger.           I count on this…
Though one may be overpowered, 
two can defend themselves. 
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken. 
Ecclesiastes 4:12 

So during a week where we watched, we also got up, went to work, had lunch, complained about being cold,   laughed over “Pants on the Ground,” and lived our comfortable lives.
A little perspective is sometimes a very good thing. Please keep Haiti in your prayers and be a strand for someone this week.

If you are looking for a way to help, World Vision is on the ground in Haiti and could use your donation. My friend Freda and I both sponsor children living in Haiti as do many of our friends and they are in need of our help. Click here for more information.

8 responses to “Haiti…

  1. SANDI OUR FAMILY BROUGHT A CHILD WITH A CLUB FOOT TO THE STATES FOR MANY OPERATIONS . HIS NAME IS JIMMY . HE & HIS FAMILY LIVE IN A TREE . WHEN KIM TOOK HIM HOME TO HAITI WE KNEW WE HAD RECEIVED THE BLESSING FOR HAVING THIS PRECIOUS LITTLE BOY IN OUR LIVES .
    THESE R ALL GODS PEOPLE AND YES EVERYONE CAN DO SOMETHING . WE WILL ! AMEN

  2. Thank you for sharing Molly’s story. I am a friend of the Hightowers and I know that one of their priorities right now is to tell the world about the work that Molly was doing. I can only hope that others will be as inspired by her as I am. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    • My thoughts and prayers are with you.
      Isaiah 55:11 “So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth: It shall not return to me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it”

  3. It makes me aware of my selfish nature and reminds me of my blessed life that I have in this country, I am proud of all the loving and caring hearts (Godly citizens) that we so often forget exist in our world today, take time TODAY to pray for our brothers & sisters in Haiti and for guidance as to how we can all lend a hand of support with our resources and our time.

  4. Thank you for taking the time to write!

    Together, we are indeed stronger – and weirdly, I’m glad we can effectively help from the comfort of our homes by giving money to the organizations on the ground over there, and by praying.

  5. Pingback: Haiti: What moved you? – String Theory

  6. Hi Sandi….just stopped by to catch up on your blog and read this; broke my heart right in two. Thank you for taking the time to share.

    • It does break your heart. This morning the news showed a young girl around 10 years old, holding up her little green bible and she said, “I am not afraid, God is with me.” Oh, that faith!!!

Leave a Reply

