Can it all really be over?

From 2008 Christmas Day

The shopping, baking, wrapping, traffic, parties, Cantata’s, thinking, planning,friends, singing, organizing, celebrating, familyness of Christmas is OVER!! Why do I feel such a sense of RELIEF!!!? While I relish the time with friends and family ALL year long, it seems that Christmas always throws it into overdrive!
I LOVE Christmas. I love the simplicity of the story of Baby Jesus coming to us in such a humble way. I love the lights and sparklyness of the season. I love the smell of my Christmas tree and all those wonderful candles. I love the fun of surprising my loved ones with a wonderful gift. I especially loved and appreciated having both college kids under my roof as I realize that one day all too soon they will celebrate with their own families. I love watching all the old favorite movies, “Holiday Inn, White Christmas, It’s a Wonderful Life, The Christmas Story, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer and the new,  Christmas Vacation, Elf, The Grinch, Polar Express and Christmas with the Kranks. I love the music and refuse to listen to ANYTHING else from Thanksgiving on. Get the picture? I LOVE IT ALL!
Then WHY am I sooooo relieved that it is OVER? This year was the year of simplification of Christmas, less stress, less worry…… BUT you still end up in the kitchen for much longer than humans should be in a kitchen and running out to WALMART at the last minute and buying that one extra gift……. I guess no matter how much we LOVE something, if we had mounds of it in hyperdrive everyday all year we would grow weary of it.
All said, I loved it and hope that you and yours had a very blessed and happy Christmas. Just think, we have 11 months to prepare for the next!! Merry Christmas from the Adams Family!

One response to “Can it all really be over?

  1. Hey,
    Long time…..how are you. Please get in touch with me. Wow, the kids are all grown up and beautiful. 912-655-8206, So much has happened since I spoke to you last. I would love to come and visit on my way to Tennessee…. I hope you are well. I think about you often. I just found the card you sent me several years back and looked for you on facebook, but found this site….

    Please stay in touch…
    Kim

Leave a Reply

